4AD

See All Artists...
Stornoway

Stornoway 'I Saw You Blink' Out Now

26th March 2010
Stornoway 'I Saw You Blink' Out Now

This week Stornoway release their new single 'I Saw You Blink', their debut release on 4AD ahead of the release of their debut album, Beachcomber's Windowsill, on May 24.

'I Saw You Blink' is evidence of the band's rich tapestry of pop melodies, embroidered with the band's crystalline, four-part harmonies. Brian Briggs, Stornoway's lead singer and songwriter, shows an almost effortless ability to segue deft lyrics that are narrative masterpieces with artful pop stylings. His bandmates; Jonathan Ouin (keys/banjo/electric guitar/cello), Rob Steadman (drums) and Oliver Steadman (bass / electric guitar) are all party to further embellishing this traditionally simple love song into a pop classic in-waiting. Perhaps because of their scientific backgrounds, all four of the band delight in experimenting with unusual instrumentation and production methods and in 'I Saw You Blink', the song's title is percussively transmitted via morse code, within the recording, using a güiro (the notched gourd commonly found in Latin American rhythm sections).

Produced by Craig Silvey at the wondrous Miloco Studios in London, the b-side to the limited release 7" is 'Gondwanaland', a home recording of the band's.

Stornoway are to headline ‘The Highland, Islands & Ireland’ tour in April, which also includes the band’s first trip to their island namesake Stornoway. They are also proud to announce a further UK tour which includes a London headline show at ULU on Thursday 20th May.

SCOTTISH HIGHLANDS, ISLANDS AND IRELAND DATES:

Tues 6th April Scotland Mull An Tobar
Wed 7th April Scotland FT William Fired Art
Thurs 8th April Scotland Inverness Mad Hatters
Fri 9th April Scotland Stornoway Woodlands
Sat 10th April Scotland Ullapool Arch
Sun 11th April Scotland Aberdeen Snafu
Tues 13th April Scotland Glasgow King Tuts
Wed 14th April N.Ireland Belfast Black Box
Fri 16th April Ireland Dublin Crawdaddy
Sat 17th April Ireland Galway Roisin Dubh
Sun18th April Ireland Cork Savoy

ADDITIONAL STORNOWAY TOUR DATES

Sat 24th April Netherlands Amsterdam London Calling
Fri 30th April Norway Bergenfest Garage
Mon 10th May England Sheffield Sheffield Uni - SU Fusion
Tues 11th May England York York University SU
Wed 12th May England Manchester Club Academy
Thurs 13th May England Birmingham Hare & Hounds
Thurs 20th May England London ULU

For more information on the band, head to www.stornoway.eu.

Sign up to the list to get a free mp3:

 

Social