4AD home

Helado Negro - 'There Must Be A Song Like You'
Helado Negro : 'There Must Be A Song Like You'
20th October 2021

Helado Negro has released the new single ‘There Must Be A Song Like You’. It is the fourth single to preview the new album Far In which will be released this Friday. Commenting on the song, Roberto Lange writes, "who are you? All of our songs are so different. All of the experiences that we are, can there be a song like you? This song is a map of this exploration. Looking for melodies and rhythms that are you, day to day moment to moment, we are a different song."

‘There Must Be A Song Like You’ is accompanied by an official video directed by Andrew Anderson.

Stream 'There Must Be A Song Like You' on all platforms here +

Far In is Helado Negro's first album on 4AD and the seventh full-length album in his catalog. It follows his breakthrough 2019 release This Is How You Smile.

The first LP pre-orders of Far In from the 4AD Store will receive a limited print signed by Helado Negro +
Pre-save/pre-order the album, released 22nd October, on all formats here +

When Helado Negro began writing Far In immediately following the release of This is How You Smile, he could not have predicted that we would soon need to learn how to stay at home and be the stars of our domestic dance floors with intimates and online communities.  Roberto and his partner, the visual artist Kristi Sword, had planned to visit Marfa, Texas for an early 2020 residency to work on their collaborative project.  Once the pandemic hit, they decided to stay in Marfa through the summer, inspiring Roberto to write a significant amount of songs on the upcoming album. 
Escape is never out there, you have to go inward,” Roberto reflects on developing an epic Helado Negro double album during these extraordinary times.  Heavy, pulsing, rhythms drive 'Aureole' through a dystopian landscape, but as he sings of endless psychological restrictions, the shimmering radiance of expanded realms bursts through.  This chiaroscuro effect suggests a path that isn’t tuning out beneath monumental forces and anxieties, but embracing the dark of the unknown with openness, pleasure, and growth.

Helado Negro - Far In

1. Wake Up Tomorrow (ft. Kacy Hill)
2. Gemini and Leo
3. Purple Tones
4. There Must Be A Song Like You
5. Aguas Frías
6. Aureole
7. Hometown Dream
8. Agosto (ft. Buscabulla)
9. Outside the Outside
10. Brown Fluorescence
11. Wind Conversations
12. Thank You For Ever
13. La Naranja 
14. Telescope (ft. Benamin)
15. Mirror Talk