4AD home

Bon Iver - Bon Iver Announces Release of Self-Titled Second Album
Bon Iver : Bon Iver Announces Release of Self-Titled Second Album
20th April 2011

Bon Iver, the musical project of Justin Vernon, has confirmed the release of new album, Bon Iver, Bon Iver, on June 20th. Featuring ten new songs penned by Vernon, the album expands the group's sonic palette beyond the rustic acoustics of the debut. Bon Iver, Bon Iver is a lush landscape of silky electric guitars, intricate keys, and subtle horn and string sections, which retains the ghost choirs and densely layered vocals intact that Bon Iver is widely celebrated for. The full track listing is featured below.

Painstakingly crafted over three years, the album was recorded and mixed at April Base Studios, a former veterinarian's clinic in Fall Creek, WI, converted into a recording studio by Vernon and his brother. Bon Iver regulars Sean Carey, Mike Noyce and Matt McCaughan contributed vocals, drums and production; Rob Moose (Antony and the Johnsons, The National) helped with arranging and strings; and Jim Schoenecker and Tom Wincek provided processing. The album also features the pedal steel of Greg Leisz (Lucinda Williams, Bill Frisell) and a horn section including Colin Stetson (Tom Waits, Arcade Fire), Mike Lewis (Andrew Bird, Happy Apple), and C.J. Camerieri (Rufus Wainwright, Sufjan Stevens).

In advance of the album's release, you can catch the first glimpse of new music by watching the 50 second teaser video mysteriously posted on Bon Iver's website last week.

Track Listing
1. Perth
2. Minnesota, WI
3. Holocene
4. Towers
5. Michicant
6. Hinnom, TX
7. Wash.
8. Calgary
9. Lisbon, OH
10. Beth/Rest