4AD home

The National - Download Free MP3 of the New The National Single, 'Bloodbuzz Ohio'
The National : Download Free MP3 of the New The National Single, 'Bloodbuzz Ohio'
25th March 2010


The first single from The National's forthcoming new album High Violet will be 'Bloodbuzz Ohio', due for release on 7" vinyl and digital download on May 3, 2010 through 4AD.

The 7" comes backed with a brand new song entitled 'Sin-Eaters', recorded at The National's own studio in Brooklyn, and mixed by Patrick Dillet at Kampo in New York. The artwork features work by acclaimed Ohio-born New York-based artist Mark Fox.

Premiered on Lauren Laverne's 6Music show yesterday, fans can now download a free MP3 of 'Bloodbuzz Ohio' by heading to HIGHVIOLET.COM.

The National will play a one-off show London's Royal Albert Hall on May 6. Preceeding that they will play a low-key set at the Electric Ballroom in Camden on May 5. Tickets for both dates sold out on day of release.

The Brooklyn quintet release their fifth full-length studio album High Violet on May 10th (11th worldwide) via 4AD.

High Violet is the Brooklyn quintet's first full-length release since 2007's acclaimed long-player Boxer and all eleven tracks were recorded in the band's own studio in Brooklyn with further recording and mixing at Tarquin Studios in Bridgeport, Connecticut with Peter Katis.

Watch the exclusive worldwide performance of lead track 'Terrible Love', previously recorded on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon, (available to watch here).

High Violet track-listing:
1. Terrible Love
2. Sorrow
3. Anyone’s Ghost
4. Little Faith
5. Afraid of Everyone
6. Bloodbuzz Ohio
7. Lemonworld
8. Runaway
9. Conversation 16
10. England
11. Vanderlyle Crybaby Geeks

For a full list of forthcoming dates for The National, head here.

Below is the full artwork for High Violet. The sculpture in the cover art image was created by Mark Fox and is called "The Binding Force".